The history and tradition of Lees-McRae Cross Country was shown this past weekend at the CVAC Cross Country Championship awards banquet as five men and two women were named to the All-Time All-CVAC Cross Country Team.

"To see so many of those who ran so well during their time at Lees-McRae is impressive and I am very proud of their achievements," said Coach Craig McPhail. "Their accomplishments have been noticed and stood amongst the best."

Beginning in 2007-08, the Carolinas-Virginia Athletics Conference will become Conference Carolinas, and to help commemorate the new era for the conference, All-Time Teams will be selected for each of the conference's 14 championship sports. In conjunction with the 2006 CVAC Cross Country Championships, ten member men's and women's teams were announced with the 2006 All CVAC teams.

"Conference Members are excited to honor the best athletes of an era when competition was intense," stated Commissioner Alan Patterson. Certainly the level of competition will only increase in the Conference Carolinas. The singe change is that the name better reflects the location of members based in a geographical area that is highly regarded throughout the country."
Student-athletes were nominated by and voted on by CVAC institutions. Only those student athletes who competed or have competed in the CVAC for a minimum of two seasons are eligible for inclusion. Active student-athletes who meet the criteria were also eligible.
The All Time All CVAC Cross Country team was comprised from nominees from current member schools Anderson University, Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Coker College, Converse College, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, Mount Olive College, Pfeiffer University, Queens University of Charlotte, St. Andrews Presbyterian College and former High Point University and Longwood University.

Men's Cross Country All Time All CVAC Team:

Brian Knapp Lees-McRae, 2001-04

3-time All-CVAC; CVAC individual runner-up in '04, 3-time NCAA All-Southeast; Team won CVAC 3 of 4 years; Academic All-American in '04; '03, '04 800m participant for NCAA DII National Championships for Outdoor Track and Field; '04 3rd place 800m Outdoors becoming Lees-McRae's 1st Track and Field All-American. He holds all school records from 400 to 1500m.

Derick Williamson Lees-McRae, 1999-00

2-time All-CVAC; Team won CVAC title in 1999; Runner of the Year in 2000, All-Southeast in 2000, NCAA DII Cross Country National Qualifier in 2000; Academic All-American in 2000.

Justin McKenzie Lees-McRae, 1996-99

4-time All-CVAC; team won title in 1999, finished 3rd in '98 with a personal best 26:44.

Lewis Martin Lees-McRae, 2003-05

'03 freshman of the year; '05 runner of the year; team won titles in '03, '04, runners-up in '05; 3-time All-CVAC NCAA DII All-Southeast '04, '05; holds all school records from 3k-10k indoors and outdoors; currently red-shirting.

Andrew Walton Lees-McRae, 2003-04 -- pictured at left

2-time All-CVAC; team won titles both years he ran. He is currently assistant coach for cross country at Lees-McRae.

Larry Adamson Belmont Abbey, 1997-00
Josh Godfrey Barton, 1999-02
David Duggan High Point, 1995-96
Aaron Brantly Queens, 2000-03
Chris Miller St. Andrews, 2004-05

Women's Cross Country All Time All CVAC Team:

Jessi Blackwood Lees-McRae, 1996-99

4-time All-CVAC; team won titles in '98 and '99; runner of the year in '97; runner-up in '96; worst finish at CVAC championships 5th.

Amanda Cook Lees-McRae, 1998-01

4-time All-CVAC; team won titles all four years, runner of the year in 99 and '01; NCAA All-Southeast all four years; NCAA Southeast Runner of the Year in '01.

Mickey Francis Belmont Abbey, 1997-99
Carin Burkett Barton, 2000-03
Beth (Schultz) Martin Mount Olive, 2002-03
Sarah Terry Queens, 2002-05
Kelly Chaplin St. Andrews, 2003-05
Jennifer Hitt Anderson, 2004-05
Ashley Smoak Anderson, 2001-04
Jessica Merrill Anderson, 1999-02