Seven Cyclists Tabbed to USA Cycling Academic All-Star Class

Seven Cyclists Tabbed to USA Cycling Academic All-Star Class

COLORADO SPRING, Colo. – Seven Lees-McRae cyclists were named to the Spring 2014 Collegiate Academic All-Star class, USA Cycling announced Monday afternoon.

Emily Shields (Salisbury, N.C.), Katherine Shields (Salisbury, N.C.), Erin Donohue (Norwich, Vt.), Dylan Knutson (Eagan, Minn.), Matthew Zimmer (DeWitt, Iowa), Jose Avila (Miami, Fla.) and Gunnar Bergey (Ledrach, Pa.) were the seven LMC representatives.

“I am proud of all seven athletes for achieving this award.  Each one represents what it truly means to be a student first and athlete second, and I am very proud of their accomplishment,” praised Director of Cycling Tim Hall. “They are all a shining example of what we look for in the classroom and on a bicycle.” 

Each student-athlete must have achieved a 3.5 GPA for the spring semester and have competed in either the BMX or Road National Championships. All of LMC’s student-athletes appeared in the Road Championships.

The class is of 41 riders from 22 different schools.

“I emphasize academics first here at Lees-McRae, and the entire team is living up to that expectation.  Our team GPA for the fall and spring semester combined was just over 3.0, which is our goal each and every year,” said Hall. “If someone is struggling then they do not compete.  Of course we want to win races on the bike, but the most important objective is we teach them how to become winners in life.  In order to achieve that goal, it all begins in the classroom.”

Lees-McRae and Marian University had seven representatives each while Ft. Lewis College had six.