Men's Basketball

Anderson Tabbed Conference Carolinas Men's Basketball Player of the Year

Anderson Tabbed Conference Carolinas Men's Basketball Player of the Year

HIGH POINT, N.C. --- Lees-McRae senior Austin Anderson was named Conference Carolinas Men’s Basketball Player of the Year Saturday morning, the league office announced.

Anderson averaged 19.2 points per contest in conference play while leading the Bobcats to a school record 12 conference wins.

LMC set a school record for wins with 16.

Overall, the Anderson, S.C., product finished third in the points per game (17.5), tied for second in steals per game (1.7) and fourth in free throw percentage (80.9) and points (440).

"I'm extremely happy for Austin! As I have said all year long he was deserving of this Player of the Year award. Austin changed our team from the inside out with his character, leadership ability, work effort, and on the court play,” praised head coach Steve Hardin. “He made everyone better!  He was a blessing to coach as he taught the rest of the guys what needs to be done in order to be successful. Congrats to him and his great family for this award." 

Anderson finished ninth with 64 three pointers and tied for 12th in rebounds per game (5.6). He scored in double figures in 24 of 28 games while turning in 20 points or more on 11 occasions. The senior claimed CC Player of the Week Award Dec. 7 after leading the Bobcats to a pair of conference wins.

Anderson poured in a season-high 29 points in LMC’s 75-74 loss to No. 6 Limestone. From Feb. 6-Feb. 13, the senior led the Bobcats to three wins while averaging 25.5 points per game.

Men's All-Conference First-Team
Shaq Dance, Limestone
Hunter Leveau, King
Dontrell Brite, Mount Olive
CJ Good, King
Austin Anderson, Lees-McRae 

Men's All-Conference Second-Team
Brolin Floyd, Limestone
De’Vonte Jenkins, Pfeiffer
Danny Shand, Barton
Joby Glymph, Erskine
Dominique Byrd, Barton 

Men's All-Conference Third-Team
Ray Chen, Belmont Abbey
Dominique Reed, Mount Olive
Justin Dotson, North Greenville
Mike Moore, Mount Olive
Andrew Guerrero, Pfeiffer

Men's Regular Season Champion
King University 

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 12 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, Pfeiffer University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College and Southern Wesleyan University are currently completing the NCAA DII membership process.

- LMC -