Men's Lacrosse

Bobcats Earn First Win with 10-8 Decision Over Rollins

MARS HILL, N.C. - The Lees-McRae College Bobcats men's lacrosse team earned their first win of the season with a 10-8 victory over Rollins College in nonconference action.

Landon Young and Derin Vacca paced the Bobcats with two goals apiece. The Bobcats also received goals from Brett Yusiewicz, Matt Markey, Matt Smith, Ryan LeBlanc and goalkeeper Andy Nesdill. Brian Thompson picked up a team high six groundballs, and Forrest MacConnell followed with four groundballs. Chandler Kirven won six of his nine faceoffs. Thompson also led the team with three caused turnovers.

Lees-McRae fell behind early when Rollins jumped out to a 5-1 lead in the first quarter, but the Bobcats responded by winning the second quarter 5-2 and cutting the halftime lead to 7-6. The Bobcats tied the game in the fourth quarter at eight on two goals while Rollins only managed one goal. Lees-McRae notched two fourth quarter goals and blanked Rollins to win 10-8.

Andy Nesdill made 13 saves to earn the win.

Lees-McRae was successful on 23 for their 25 clear attempts, while limiting Rollins to successfully clearing 19 of 27 attempts.

The Bobcats outshot Rollins 35-27 and won the groundball battle 27-20.

Box score

Pictured: Landon Young