Men's Lacrosse

Bobcats Drop Season Finale to Indians, 10-6

SALLSBURY, N.C. - The Lees-McRae College Bobcats end their season with a 10-6 loss to the Catawba College Indians in nonconference men's lacrosse action Thursday afternoon.

The Bobcats got six goals from six different players in the game. Neil Sleight, Kirk Rogers, Nathan Hammer, Kyle Ficken, Matt Markey and Brandon Marks all notched goals in the team's final game. Rogers added four assists to lead the team with total five points. Landon Young had the team's other assist. Edward Dolan led the team with six groundballs, and Bryan Thompson picked up five groundballs. Joe Salvino caused a team-high two turnovers.

The Bobcats took an early 2-1 lead after the first quarter of play, but the Indians responded with four second quarter goals to take a 5-3 lead at the break. Catawba scored three more in the third quarter, while Lees-McRae only added one. Both teams scored two fourth quarter goals to give the game the final score of 10-6.

Lees-McRae outshot Catawba 54-32 and won the groundball battle 41-29. The Bobcats were successful on 28 of their 38 clear attempts, while Catawba cleared 23 of their 30 attempts.

Catawba controlled the face-offs. They won 12 of the 20, while the Bobcats only won eight.

With the loss, the Bobcats season ends with a 2-11 overall record. The team has already finished their conference play and ended with a 0-5 conference record.

Box score

2009 Final Season Stats

Pictured: Kirk Rogers