Bobcats Claim Seven All Conference Awards; Squires Named Player of the Year

HIGH POINT, N.C. - The Lees-McRae Bobcats men's soccer team placed seven players on All Conference teams and saw leading scorer Lee Squires crowned Player of the Year as announced by Conference Carolinas today. Head Coaches from conference member institutions nominate and then vote upon the award winners who represent the best of the best for the conference.

Two players for the Bobcats were named All-Conference 1st Team, three players All-Conference 2nd Team and two players to All-Conference 3rd Team.

Squires (Sheffield, England), who has led the Bobcats with 23 season goals, one away from breaking the single season record for goals in a season that he set last year, was named to the All-Conference 1st Team. Junior Dale Parker (Worksop, England) was the second Bobcat member named to the All-Conference 1st Team. Parker has anchored the Bobcat defense with his center back play.

Freshman forward David Palmer (Gateshead, England), senior outside mid-fielder Kyle McGimsey (Plant City, Fla.) and junior goalkeeper Sean Paradise (North Port, Fla.) represented the Bobcats squad on the All-Conference 2nd Team. Palmer had six goals in 11 conference matches and was second on the team in points with 13. McGimsey had one goal and three assists in 11 conference matches, and Paradise had 647:20 minutes in goal and allowed only seven goals on 120 shots. He recorded 21 saves and two shutouts.

Named to the All-Conference 3rd team was freshman center back Luke Duffy (Wakefield, England) and sophomore outside midfield Nick Robinson (Melbourne, Australia). Robinson has four goals, including four game winners to lead the team, and two assists in 11 games. Duffy a full-time defender has played in all 11 matches for the Bobcats anchoring the centerof the Bobcat defense along with Parker.

Men's All-Conference 1st-Team
Dominic Casciato, Limestone
James Owusu, Belmont Abbey
Dale Parker, Lees-McRae
Chad Pinnick, Queens
Lee Squires, Lees-McRae
Lasse Sohrweide, Anderson
Michael McEmerson, Limestone
Stephen Henry, Anderson
Nick Brindley, Pfeiffer
Lahnden Onger, Anderson
Bryan Alenky, Belmont Abbey

Men's All-Conference 2nd-Team
Kyle Bennett, Erskine
James Burke, Limestone
Rayon Markland, Anderson
David Palmer, Lees-McRae
Justin Garton, St. Andrews
Ali Benson, Limestone
Kevin Valkenburg, Anderson
Tom Beattie, Limestone
Kyle McGimsey, Lees-McRae
Sean Boyle, Limestone
Sean Paradise, Lees-McRae

Men's All-Conference 3rd-Team
Bradley Sisk, Pfeiffer
Kyle Fenner, Belmont Abbey
Luke Duffy, Lees-McRae
Anthony Payne, Mount Olive
Max Pembleton, Belmont Abbey
Dennis Gonzalez, Coker
Christian Ocampo, Belmont Abbey
Keegan Ziada, Limestone,
Renato Barbosa, Pfeiffer
Nick Robinson, Lees-McRae
Ronald Murray, Erskine

Freshman of the Year
Lasse Sohrweide, Anderson

Player of the Year
Lee Squires, Lees-McRae

Coach of the Year
Rob Miller, Anderson

Regular Season Champions