Men's Track & Field

Conference Carolinas Welcomes Outdoor Track & Field as League Sport

HIGH POINT, N.C. -- Conference Carolinas welcomes outdoor track & field as a new conference sport for the 2009 spring season.

The regular season will culminate with a conference championship. The conference championship will be hosted by Lees-McRae College in Banner Elk, N.C. on the weekend of April 17-19, 2009.

Teams sponsoring outdoor track & field this year that will compete in the conference championship will be Anderson University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, Mount Olive College, Queens University of Charlotte, and St. Andrews Presbyterian College.

Belmont Abbey College has also released plans to add a full team in 2010.

2009 Conference Carolinas Outdoor Track & Field 'Athletes to Watch'

Anderson: Whitney Bishoof (1500m), Lauren Sloan (shot, discus, javelin, hammer), Alex Jordan (5000m), Rayon Markland (javelin, discus)

Lees-McRae: Shantr McCoy (110m hurdles, 400h, 100m, 4 x 100m relay, triple jump), Erin Tyler (shot, javelin, long jump, high jump), Brad Tanis (400h/110h, 400, and 4 x 400m relay), Jon Arthur (pole vault, triple jump)

Limestone: Bri Barbee (sprints), Jenny Altieri (hurdles), Kortez Scott (jumps), Richard Gore (hurdles)

Mount Olive: Savannah Kosik (200 meter, 400 meter) Ariel Woodard Stephens (triple jump, long jump, high jump)

Queens: Tanya Zeferjahn (5000m, 10000m, Jessica Neville (5000m), Michael Crouch (5,000m), Futsum Mebrahtu (10,000m)

St. Andrews: Alyson Trovato (5000m), Kristin Zipkin (shotput, discus), Mitch Coooer (3000m steeplechase, 5000m), Matt Rodgers (shot, discus)

Conference Carolinas sponsors championship sports in men's & women's cross country, men's & women's soccer, women's volleyball, men's & women's basketball, baseball, softball, men's & women's tennis, men's & women's golf, men's & women's lacrosse and men's & women's outdoor track & field. Members of the league include: Anderson University (Anderson, SC); Barton College (Wilson, NC); Belmont Abbey College (Belmont, NC); Coker College (Hartsville, SC); Converse College (Spartanburg, SC); Erskine College (Due West, SC); Lees-McRae College (Banner Elk, NC); Limestone College (Gaffney, SC); Mount Olive College (Mount Olive, NC); Pfeiffer University (Misenheimer, NC); Queens University of Charlotte (Charlotte, NC); and St. Andrews Presbyterian College (Laurinburg, NC).

Conference Carolinas is a proud member of the NCAA and Division II. Division II is a dynamic and engaging group of colleges, institutions, and conferences of varying sizes and educational missions. Division II members encourage and support diversity; value sportsmanship, fairness and equity; and place the highest priority on the overall educational excellence of the student-athlete