Women's Lacrosse

Bobcats win inaugural Team Sportsmanship Award

Bobcats win inaugural Team Sportsmanship Award

HIGH POINT, N.C. --- The Lees-McRae College women's lacrosse team has been named as the recipient of the inaugural Conference Carolinas Team Sportsmanship Award, announced league officials Friday.

The award, which was introduced prior to the 2010 fall season, recognizes one conference team from each sport that demonstrates the best sportsmanship, as voted on by member coaches and student-athletes throughout the league.

Lees-McRae (women's lacrosse), Queens University of Charlotte (softball, men's golf, men's lacrosse, women's track & field), Barton College (baseball, men's track & field), Converse College (women's tennis), Belmont Abbey College (men's tennis), and Limestone College (women's golf) each garnered the inaugural honor in the aforementioned sport.

The Bobcats posted a solid season this spring, posting three impressive victories after opening the campaign with two wins in their first three games. Lees-McRae also placed four players on the Academic all-Conference Carolinas team, including seniors Lauren Martin (Whitby, Ontario, Canada), Martha Peacock (Mooresville, N.C.), and Lexi King (Woodstock, Ga.).

Lees-McRae is expected to return 12 letter-winners from this season's squad, including rising seniors DeLuke, Tiffany Rodman (Corona, Calif.), and Amanda Harkness (Johnson City, N.Y.).

- LMC -