Women's Lacrosse

Peacock nets conference sportsmanship honor

Peacock nets conference sportsmanship honor

HIGH POINT, N.C. --- Lees-McRae College senior Martha Peacock (Mooresville, N.C.) has been selected as the 2010-11 Conference Carolinas Female Sportsmanship Award recipient, announced league officials Tuesday.

Each year, the conference receives nominations from member institutions before league Senior Woman Administrators select one female and one male student-athlete, who are truly outstanding contributors to their institutions intercollegiate athletic programs.

Peacock played a pivotal role as a senior captain for this year's Lees-McRae women's lacrosse team. The Mooresville, N.C. native exemplified everything a student-athlete should be, on and off the field. On countless occasions, Martha made herself available to her teammates as a friendly face and a willing ear, even outside of organized team activities.

As a captain, Martha continually demonstrated superior leadership during practices, games, and other team activities, while never shying from completing a task asked of her by the coaching staff or administrators.

Limestone College's Miguel Lopez Zuniga was selected as the male recipient for his exemplary leadership during the Saints' transition to a new men's tennis coaching staff. Zuniga has represented himself and Limestone in an exemplary way throughout his time as a member of the Saints men's tennis program.

This year, in addition to being one of the top players on the team, he was a leader on and off the court. He helped the team transition to a new coaching staff just before the season started and led Limestone to runner-up finishes for the Conference Carolinas regular season and tournament titles. Individually, Zuniga always treated his opponents with respect, even when that was not always returned in kind, and encouraged his teammates to stay focused and that every point mattered.

Peacock and Zuniga, as the highest vote getters and winners of the conference sportsmanship award, have been nominated for the NCAA Student-Athlete Sportsmanship award. The NCAA Student-Athlete Sportsmanship Award honors student-athletes who, through their actions in the competitive arena of intercollegiate athletics, have demonstrated one or more of the ideals of sportsmanship, including fairness, civility, honesty, unselfishness, respect and responsibility.

Divisional and national award winning selections are made by the NCAA Committee on Sportsmanship and Ethical Conduct and will be released later this summer. This national award was first presented in 1999 as the Outstanding Sports Persons of the Year Award and has since been renamed the Student-Athlete Sportsmanship Award. Last year both Cassie Blackmon and Kevin Carty from Conference Carolinas member Barton College went on to win both the female and male awards for the league sweep.

Both Peacock's and Zuniga's accomplishments should be celebrated as these two student-athletes represent themselves, their schools, and the conference in such a selfless and giving manner.

- LMC -