Women's Soccer

33 LMC Student-Athletes Inducted to Chi Alpha Sigma North Carolina Beta Chapter

33 LMC Student-Athletes Inducted to Chi Alpha Sigma North Carolina Beta Chapter


GREENCASTLE, Ind. --- 33 Lees-McRae student-athletes were inducted into the Chi Alpha Sigma North Carolina Beta Chapter, the organization announced Wednesday.

“We’re extremely proud of the hard work and dedication these young men and women have put into earning this honor of being inducted into the Chi Alpha Sigma, National College Athlete Honor Society,” said director of athletic compliance Jeffrey Merrill.

Courtesy of Chi Alpha Sigma: Chi Alpha Sigma is a nonprofit organization that was established to recognize college student-athletes who excel both on and off the field of competition. The organization was founded in 1996 by then DePauw University head football coach Nick Mourouzis. His goal was to provide outstanding student-athletes with an opportunity to become connected within a fraternal association that aligns their educational and athletic successes for a lifetime.

The governing board represents all levels of competition in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA).

Chi Alpha Sigma's purposes are as follow:

To encourage and reward high academic scholarship of college athletes at four-year accredited colleges and universities. To recognize outstanding academic achievement by intercollegiate varsity letter winners. To encourage good citizenship, moral character and friendship among the high academic achievers in college athletics. To recognize and honor the individual athlete, his/her team, sport, athletic department, and college or university. To mentor and to provide leadership to other athletes.

LMC’s list consists of 19 juniors and 14 seniors.

The women’s soccer team placed eight representatives to lead all teams while men’s soccer had five.

Women’s volleyball, men’s basketball and men’s lacrosse had three members each.

LMC is one of four DII schools in the state of North Carolina and one of three Conference Carolinas schools (Pfeiffer and Belmont Abbey).

- LMC -