Women's Tennis

Celi Takes Player and Freshman of the Year Honors, Coach Goode Named Coach of the Year

High Point, N.C. -- Freshman Gabriela Celi was selected Conference Carolinas Women's Tennis Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year and First Team All Conference, teammates Christine Vanard and Ashley Mayers received First Team and Third Team All Conference honors respectively, and fourth year head coach Paul Goode was named Coach of the Year as announced by Conference Carolinas officials at the league's tennis banquet Thursday evening. The banquet kicks off the Conference Tournament Championships co-hosted by Erskine College and the Sumter Palmetto Park Tennis Complex in Sumter, S.C.

The Conference Carolinas All-Conference Teams were determined by vote from each Head Coach of participating league institutions. Nominations were collected and then voted upon by ballot and tallied to determine Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year, All-Conference First Team, All-Conference Second Team and All-Conference Second Team.

Gabriela Celi of Casselberry, Florida went undefeated in conference play this season as a freshman at the No. 1 seed for the Lady Bobcats. She was also named Player of the Week once this season. Sophomore No. 2 seed Christine Vanard of Winston-Salem was once voted Player of the Week and also went undefeated, 9-0, in conference. Senior Ashley Mayers from Miami, Florida finished the year 7-1 in conference play at the No. 3 seed and was also selected as a Conference Carolinas Player of the Week.

Coach Paul Goode led his team to a three-way tie for the regular season Conference Carolinas Championship after his team stroked their way to an 8-1 Conference Carolinas record, leaping up the ranks from a sixth place finish in regular season play a year ago. Goode also saw three players earn Player of the Week honors.

Player of the Year:
Gabriela Celi, Lees-McRae

Freshman of the Year:
Gabriela Celi, Lees-McRae

Coach of the Year:
Paul Goode, Lees-McRae

All-Conference First Team:
Patty Dominguez, Pfeiffer
Tessa Rheault, Erskine
Gabriela Celi, Lees-McRae
Elena Mileva, Queens
Christine Vanard, Lees-McRae
Alyssa Blanchard, Coker

All-Conference Second Team:
Carol Aro, Mount Olive
Rachel Lemar, Coker
Britton Bignon, Erskine
Jimena Munoz Quiroga, Limestone
Camila Kurebayashi, Mount Olive
Jessica Galasso, Barton

All-Conference Third Team:
Jennifer Snaider, Limestone
Mary Claire Rollins, Erskine
Eve Aubry, Limestone
Sophia Medeiros, Mount Olive
Ashley Mayers, Lees-McRae