Women's Tennis

Vanard garners fourth straight all-conference honors

Vanard garners fourth straight all-conference honors

HIGH POINT, N.C. --- Lees-McRae College senior Christine Vanard (Winston-Salem, N.C.) has been named to the all-Conference Carolinas Third Team, announced league officials Thursday at the conference tournament banquet.

The selection marks Vanard's fourth straight all-conference nod after being named to the first team in each of the last three seasons. A native of Winston-Salem, N.C., Vanard has paced the Bobcats from the No. 1 singles position throughout the season, posting four convincing victories in the top singles flight against NCAA Division II opponents.

The 2008 Conference Carolinas Freshman of the Year recorded an impressive 6-1, 6-0 win over Converse College's Olivia Self on Wednesday, leading the Bobcats to a sweep of the Valkyries to earn the seventh seed in this weekend's conference tournament. Vanard has also posted four wins from the top doubles flight this season, teaming with Maria Andrade (Middle Village, N.Y.) for a 9-8 (7-1) win over Barton College's No. 1 duo of Mika Deane and Lindsey Frederick on Mar. 22.

Lees-McRae returns to the courts on Friday as the No. 7 seed in the Conference Carolinas Tournament, hosted by Erskine College, in Sumter, S.C. at the Palmetto Tennis Center. The Bobcats will take on second-seeded Queens University of Charlotte in Friday's quarterfinal round at 9 a.m.

- LMC -

2011 All-Conference Carolinas Women's Tennis Teams

First Team:
Alyssa Blanchard, Coker
Tessa Rheault, Erskine
Alena Krutkina, Pfeiffer
Corin Hallman, Erskine
Mika Deane, Barton
Britton Bignon, Erskine

Second Team:
Elena Mileva, Queens
Christina Rustscheff, Queens
Jimena Munoz, Limestone
Morgan Roberts, Queens
Abby O'Reilly, Erskine
Marine Becker, Mount Olive

Third Team:
Christine Vanard, Lees-McRae
Eve Aubry, Limestone
Camila Kurebayashi, Mount Olive
Sofia Medeiros, Mount Olive
Kendall Sigmon, Coker

Player of the Year:
Alyssa Blanchard, Coker

Freshman of the Year:
Corin Hallman, Erskine

Coach of the Year:
Calhoun Parr, Erskine

Regular Season Champions:
Erskine College