Women's Track & Field

Queen’s Zeferjhan Shines, but Lees-McRae Leads After Day one of the Conference Carolinas Championship Meet

Box score

BANNER ELK, N.C. - Tanya Zeferjahn of Queens University of Charlotte finished with a time of 35:30.52 a second shy of an NCAA automatic qualifying time in the 10,000m to win the event at the Conference Carolinas Championship Track and Field Meet at the Arthur, Laurentsen Sanders Track and Field Complex on the campus of Lees-McRae College.

Zeferjahn was the only female athlete to repeat as conference champion on day one of the meet. Her time broke last year's mark and meet record by three minutes. Courtney Rankin, who finished third in 2009, finished with a time of 41:34.36 to take second in 2010, and teammate Alex Gadea finished in third with a time of 47:51.24.

Mount Olive's Christiane Maul won the first women's event of the day with her first place finish in the javelin with a distance of 35.32 and set a new meet record. Lauren Sloan of Anderson finished in second place with a distance of 33.62m, and Lees-McRae's Erin Tyler took third with a 30.29m toss.

In the women's high jump, Stephanie Wilson won the event with a height of five feet, and Tyler finished in second with a height of 4'10". Shakaria Hamlin of Queens took the final podium spot with a 4'8".

Durecelle Campbell from Anderson set a new meet recond with a distance of 40.78m in the women's hammer throw to win the event, and teammate Lauren Sloan took second with a distance of 36.18m. Lees-McRae's Crystal Bass finished third with a distance of 35.42m

In the team competition, Limestone and Anderson sit tied for first with 29 points. Lees-McRae is in third with 26 points followed by Mount Olive with 18 points, Queens with 16 points, Belmont Abbey with four points and St. Andrews with two points.