Women's Volleyball

Lady Bobcats Honored

The Carolinas-Virginia Athletics Conference announced the 2006 award winners at their annual Honors Banquet that was hosted by Converse College on Thursday evening. A trio of Lady Bobcats was honored for the play this past season.

Awards include All-CVAC First, Second, and Honorable Mention teams, Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Freshman of the Year, & Regular Season Champions. Head Coaches from CVAC member institutions nominate and then vote on the award winners who represent the best of the best for the conference.

Preseason AVCA All Americans Lacie Smith, (pictured left), and Amanda Huffaker, (pictured below left), were honored with All CVAC First Team honors while Caty Honey, (pictured bottom right) was named to the All CVAC Honorable Mention team. Smith was also named the CVAC Player of the Year.

Smith's All CVAC honor places her amongst the Lady Bobcats elite as she becomes only the third player to be named All CVAC each year she played. Smith was named to the Second Team in both 2003 and 2004 while taking First Team honors last season also. A member of three CVAC Championship teams, she was also named the CVAC Tournament MVP last season while leading the Lady Bobcats to the Sweet Sixteen of the NCAA Tournament and being named to the Atlantic Regional All Tournament Team.

Huffaker takes home First Team honors for the first time in her career. A three time All-CVAC honoree, Huffaker was named Honorable Mention in 2004 and to the Second Team in 2005. One of the most dominant blockers in the nation, Huffaker has also won three CVAC Championships and was a big reason the Lady Bobcats, who entered the NCAA Regional last year as the #7 seed of eight, made it all the way to the Atlantic Regional Championship game. Huffaker was named to the All Tournament Teams at both the CVAC Championships as well as the NCAA Atlantic Regional.

Honey earns All-CVAC honors for the first time in her career. The sophomore from Geneva, IL has been outstanding all season, committing few, if any errors. With the loss of 2005 Second Team Olivia Luce due to injury, Honey has picked up the slack, and then some.

The Honors Banquet was held in conjunction with the Conference Championship that is also being hosted by Converse College. Tournament competition begins Friday morning and will continue through until Saturday's championship final.

The CVAC Award winners are listed below:

All-Conference 1st-Team
Lacie Smith Lees-McRae
Margaret Madison Coker
Anna-Marie Luft Mount Olive
Amanda Huffaker Lees-McRae
Sam Mitchell Mount Olive
Julie Oleson Limestone
Tara Nelson Coker
All-Conference 2nd-Team
Lauren Mueller Converse
Amber Wise Limestone
Keauna Vinson Barton
Melissa Thomas Limestone
Lindsey Stansbury St. Andrews
Monica Halligan Belmont Abbey
Alison Hamilton Limestone
All-Conference Honorable Mention
Amanda Edwards Anderson
Caty Honey Lees-McRae
Shaunte' Heyward Anderson
Sally Crossley Converse
Kim Harper St. Andrews

Freshman of the Year: Galina Podolsky - St. Andrews

Player of the Year: Lacie Smith - Lees-McRae

Coach of the Year: Tim Loesch - Limestone

Regular Season Co-Champions:
Lees-McRae College & Limestone College