Up Close & Personal with Ashley May

Banner Elk, NC--Today we begin a series of interviews to get the know the Bobcats a little bit better. We start with sophomore runner Ashley May from Chilhowie, VA.

1. What made you decide to come to Lees-McRae? I came to Lees-McRae because the small size and the atmosphere appealed to me. Also, LMC was out of state but not too far from home.

2. What are your personal goals for this season? Personally, I'd like to break 20 minutes in the 5k. Teamwise-I'd like to help us to win conference, regionals, and to go to nationals.

3. What's your favorite Bobcat memory here at Lees-McRae so far? The Charleston trip we took last year was great as are the trips we take to Krispy Kreme.

4. What is your favorite part of cross country here at Lees-McRae? My favorite memories are long runs on Blueberry or Wautauga River road and playing ultimate frisbee instead of practicing.

5. Who has been the most influential person on your athletic career? Coach Mac or my dad have had the most influence.

6. If you weren't a runner, what other sport would you play? Croquet...haha, actually no, but I probably would play volleyball.

7. What is your major and what do you plan to do with your degree? Pre-Vet; I plan on going on to vet school and eventually becoming a veterinarian and making lots of money.

8. If you could travel back in time to any point in history, where would you go? I would go back to the 1980s just because gas was so much cheaper!

9. What is your favorite band? I have a lot of favorite bands so it's hard to pick one: Katie Todd, 311, Modest M, The Used, and I could name a lot more.

10. What is your favorite book? The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West is my favorite book.

11. If you could visit any place in the world, where would it be? I'd love to visit the Mayan ruins in South America.

12. What is one word that describes you and why? Outspoken; I'm very loud, usually brutally honest, I don't mind to speak my opinion and I usually have something to say about everything .


Your Story… I grew up on a farm and went to a small school in Chilhowie,Virginia where I graduated with a class of about 70 kids. My school didn't have a cross country team, and I had never even heard of cross country. In my junior year, my dad brought up cross country and told me that I should try it. I was the only long distance female on my track team and he thought that I could do well in a cross country race. Every fall there is a big race called the Gathering of the Harriers in Hungry Mother Park, Marion, VA, which is about 25 minutes from my home. In this race there are about 100+ competitors. My dad made a bet with me that if i made it in the top 10 that I would have to keep racing in cross country. I agreed to the bet because I had never ran over two miles before, and I didn't think there was any way I could place in the top 10 out of that many girls. Race day came and I ended up getting 5th over all. From then on my dad would take me to races that schools could squeeze me in. My school gave me a track uniform to run in and I became Chilhowie's first cross country team in over 15 years. I played volleyball at the same time, so most days I would practice volleyball until 6 and then go home and go for a run. I ended up going to state my junior year and got like 23rd over all. My senior year I placed second in the Gathering of the Harriers meet, placed 3rd in my district, 10th in my region, andi went to state again and got 16th.

I had never heard of Lees-McRae College before and was planning on running track at King College. Then I got a call from Coach Mac telling me that he was interested in having me come up for a visit. When I came up to LMC I was going to run here. My first season of collegiate cross country went really well. I ended up making second team All-Conference and had a few PR's. That's the story!